Romuald Hazoumè

Romuald Hazoumé

Born in 1962 in Porto-Novo, Republic of Benin.
Lives and works in Porto-Novo.

Romuald Hazoumé descends from a prestigious lineage: his ancestor was a babalawo, high priest of the fâ from Nigera at the court of the king of Porto Novo. He grew up in a Catholic family of Yoruba origin who remained in contact with the cult of ancestors, such as voodoo, a practice that deeply marked him. After a high school education during which he discovered a passion for drawing, he wanted to study medicine for a while, but he decided to become an artist.

Because of his dual cultural background, Romuald Hazoumè's work, which does not strictly speaking follow the Yoruba tradition, reveals a syncretism based on recycled materials. In the mid-1980s, he created his first sculptures of plastic drums, which subtly reveal his critical vision of African political figures and systems. He became a prominent figure in Cotonou and Porto-Novo, and in 1989 exhibited Masques Bidons I at the French Cultural Center in Cotonou.

Romuald Hazoumè assembles materials, scraps and obsolete objects, which he uses as they are or which he shapes or deforms, to represent his vision of society, events or global problems. The artist reinvents history and his research which translates into monumental and striking works, and testifies to his commitment against all forms of slavery, corruption, trafficking and current abuses.  
 "There were travelling artists called "aré", who were in charge of bringing culture from one kingdom to another. I totally recognize myself in this appellation".
Hazoumè considers himself a guardian of his own Yoruba culture, where mask production plays an important role. Attached to the territory, the artist is committed to his fellow Beninese by seeking to raise their consciousness around cultural values. Not without humor, he thwarts the clichés about Africa and criticizes the throes of globalization. Of great poetic and political content, and rich in moral values, his most recent works question migration and its consequences, the inequality of exchanges present in the Western world as well as in Africa. About self-determination, Romuald Hazoumé develops:

"We have everything we need here, on our continent, but we do nothing and we wait for others to come and do it for us! My piece [Antidepressant] shows a Senufo bed on a carpet of cocoa beans behind which there is a screen that projects a video of the sunrise and sunset. In Africa, we have the sun, cocoa, which is one of the best antidepressants in the world, and a bed to solve some of our problems."

Collection

Barbier Muller Collection, Geneva, Switzerland

Jean Pigozzi Collection, Geneva, Switzerland
Collection Agnès b, Paris, France
Desmoines Art Center, Des Moines, Iowa
The Robert Devereux Collection, London and Nairobi
The British Museum, London, UK
La Fondation Zinsou, Cotonou, Benin
Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art, Brisbane, Australia
Museumslandschaft Hessen, Neue Galerie, Kassel
National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution, Washington D.C, USA
Emdash Foundation, London, UK
The Walther Collection, Deutschland
Toledo Museum of Art, Toledo, Ohio, USA
Die Mobiliar Collection, Bern, Switzerland
Musée des Beaux-Arts Montréal, Canada
Astrup Fearnley Museet, Oslo, Norway
The Menil Collection, Houston, Texas, USA
Fondation LVMH, Paris, France
The Museum of Modern Art, New York, USA
The New Art Gallery Walsall, Walsall and Birmingham Museums Trust, Birmingham, UK
Collection David Bowie, UK
The Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn, NY, USA
Permanent collection of the US Embassy, Cotonou, Benin

Né en 1962 à Porto-Novo, République du Bénin.

Vit et travaille à Porto-Novo.

 

Romuald Hazoumé descend d’une prestigieuse lignée : son ancêtre était un babalawo, grand-prêtre du fâ venu du Nigera à la cour du roi de Porto Novo. Il grandit dans une famille catholique d'origine Yoruba qui est resté en contact avec le culte des ancêtres, tel que le vaudou, pratique qui l’a profondément marqué. Après un cursus secondaire durant lequel il se découvre une passion pour le dessin, il veut un moment se tourner vers des études de médecine mais il s’engage dans la création artistique.

 

Par sa double appartenance culturelle, Romuald Hazoumè laisse transparaître dans la création de son œuvre, qui ne suit pas à proprement parler la tradition des Yoruba, un syncrétisme à partir de matériaux de récupération. Au milieu des années 80, il réalise ses premières sculptures de bidons en plastique qui révèlent avec subtilité sa vision critique des figures et des systèmes politiques africains. Il devient une personnalité très en vue à Cotonou et à Porto-Novo, et expose en 1989 Masques Bidons I au Centre culturel français de Cotonou.

 

Romuald Hazoumè assemble des matériaux, rebuts et objets désuets, qu'il utilise tels quels ou qu'il forme ou déforme, pour représenter sa vision de la société, de faits événementiels ou de problèmes planétaires. L’artiste réinvestit l'histoire et ses recherches qui se traduisent dans des œuvres monumentales et percutantes, et témoignent de son engagement contre toutes formes d'esclavage, de corruption, de trafics et des dérives actuelles. 

 « Il existait des artistes itinérants baptisés « aré », qui étaient chargés de porter la culture d’un royaume à l’autre. Je me reconnais totalement dans cette appellation ».

Hazoumè se considère comme un gardien de sa propre culture Yoruba où la production de masque occupe une place importante. Attaché au territoire, l’artiste s’engage pour ses compatriotes béninois en cherchant à élever leur conscience autour de valeurs culturelles. Non sans humour, il déjoue les clichés sur l’Afrique et critique les affres de la mondialisation. D’une grande teneur poétique et politique, et riche en valeurs morales, ses œuvres les plus récentes questionnent les migrations et leurs conséquences, l’inégalité des échanges présente aussi bien dans le monde occidental qu’en Afrique. A propos d’autodétermination, Romuald Hazoumé développe :

 

« On a tout ce qu’il faut ici, sur notre continent, mais on ne fait rien et on attend que les autres viennent le faire pour nous ! Ma pièce [Antidépresseur] reprèsente un lit sénoufo posé sur un tapis de fèves de cacao derrière lequel il y a un écran qui projette une vidéo du lever et du coucher du soleil. En Afrique, nous avons le soleil, le cacao qui est un des meilleurs antidépresseurs au monde et un lit pour pouvoir régler une partie de nos problèmes. »


Collections

Barbier Muller Collection, Geneva
C.A.A.C.-The Jean Pigozzi Collection, Geneva
Collection Agnès b, Paris
Desmoines Art Center, Des Moines, Iowa
The Robert Devereux Collection, London and Nairobi
The British Museum, London
La Fondation Zinsou, Cotonou, Benin
Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art, Brisbane
Museumslandschaft Hessen, Neue Galerie, Kassel
National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution, Washington D.C.
Emdash Foundation
The Walther Collection
Toledo Museum of Art, Toledo, Ohio
Die Mobiliar Collection, Bern, Suisse
Traboulsi Collection, Genève
Musée des Beaux-Arts Montréal, Canada
Astrup Fearnley Museet, Oslo
The Menil Collection
Fondation LVMH, Paris, France
The Museum of Modern Art, New York, USA
The New Art Gallery Walsall, Walsall and Birmingham Museums Trust, Birmingham, UK
Collection David Bowie, UK
The Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn, NY, USA
Permanent collection of the US Embassy, Cotonou, Benin