Born in 1957 in Moramanga, Madagascar.
Lives and works in Lausanne and in the South of Tunisia.

Marcel Miracle was born in the village of Moramanga in Madagascar, base of the mythical continent of Gondwana. He returned there several times, in particular to be initiated into the divinatory practice of sikidy. From these reunions was born his artist's name, an anagram of the one given to him on the island, which means "rainbow". In the 1960s, after his family returned to France, Marcel Miracle experienced the peaceful happiness of a child left free to observe what lives and what has lived in the Franche-Comté countryside: the grasses, insects, birds and stones. He has nature in his skin. Soon, books will give him the words to read it, understand it and install it in him as his muse, object of prose, poetry or drawing. Drawing, writing, the young Marcel sees no other occupation for the passions that have seized him. A geologist by training, he first worked in oil exploration, then became a school teacher in Lausanne. Since the 1990s, Marcel Miracle has developed an important production of drawings and collages, diverting the most minute objects into a dream world where irony vies with anxiety.

Marcel Miracle's work is abundant. For more than thirty years, the artist has been creating small formats, a cosmogony from the heterogeneous objects he finds (broken shells, cuttlefish bones, twigs, rusty capsules, colored rubber, papers and other objects from his daily life or his Saharan travels), but also from the writing of short stories, poems, annotations, and titles to which he pays particular attention. He draws his references from African shamanism, from the works of Arthur Cravan, Perec, Borgès or Malcolm de Chazal. His drawings and collages borrow from Catalan miniatures, Paul Klee and surrealists such as Breton, or Tourski. Marcel Miracle's literary and spiritual knowledge digs beneath the apparent surface of things. Marcel Miracle defines his work as an organization of chaos into cosmos, an alchemy of word and sign.
"Nothing exists that does not owe its existence to the gaze. For the human being the problem is more serious since cultural evolution has taken precedence over biological evolution. The eye here is the eye of the hurricane: we find in these ancient engravings beings of "great presence", all signed, signed with scarifications, mirific hairstyles and deep looks. This look, fascination of the invisible world, is part of an imaginary world inaccessible to the traveler, however gifted he may be. This great turbulence of the glance becomes here only a trace, a temporality frozen in a pose, like a crashed plane, totem in hollow in the jungle ".

Né en 1957 à Moramanga, Madagascar.

Vit et travaille à Lausanne et dans le Sud tunisien.

 

Marcel Miracle naît dans le village de Moramanga à Madagascar, socle du continent mythique de Gondwana. Il y retournera plusieurs fois, en particulier pour être initié à la pratique divinatoire du sikidy. De ces retrouvailles est né son nom d’artiste, anagramme de celui qui lui a été donné sur l’île et qui veut dire « arc-en-ciel ». Dans les années 60, après le retour de sa famille en France, Marcel Miracle connaît le bonheur paisible d’un enfant laissé libre d’observer ce qui vit et ce qui a vécu dans la campagne de Franche-Comté : les herbes, les insectes, les oiseaux et les pierres. Il a la nature dans la peau. Bientôt, les livres lui donneront les mots pour la lire, la comprendre et l’installer en lui comme sa muse, objet de prose, de poésie ou de dessin. Dessiner, écrire, le jeune Marcel ne voit pas d’autres occupations aux passions qui l’ont saisi. Géologue de formation, il travaille d’abord dans la prospection pétrolière, puis il devient maître d’école à Lausanne. Depuis les années 1990, Marcel Miracle développe une importante production de dessins et de collages, détournant les objets parfois les plus infimes dans un univers de rêve où l'ironie le dispute à l'inquiétude.

 

L’œuvre de Marcel Miracle est foisonnante. Depuis plus de trente ans, l’artiste réalise des petits formats, une cosmogonie à partir des objets hétéroclites qu'il trouve (coquilles brisées, os de seiche, brindilles, capsule rouillée, caoutchouc coloré, papiers et autres objets de son quotidien ou de ses périples sahariens), mais aussi à partir de l’écriture de nouvelles, de poèmes, d’annotations, et des titres auxquels il porte un soin particulier. Il puise ses références dans le chamanisme africain, dans les œuvres d'Arthur Cravan, de Perec, de Borgèsou de Malcolm de Chazal. Ses dessins et ses collages empruntent aux miniatures catalanes, à Paul Klee et aux surréalistes tels que Breton, ou Tourski. La connaissance littéraire et spirituelle de Marcel Miracle creuse sous l’apparente surface des choses. Marcel Miracle définit son travail comme une organisation du chaos en cosmos, une alchimie du mot et du signe.

« Rien n’existe qui ne doive son existence au regard. Pour l’être humain le problème est plus sérieux puisque l’évolution culturelle a pris le pas sur l’évolution biologique. L’œil ici est l’œil du cyclone : on trouve dans ces gravures anciennes des êtres de « grande présence », tous signés, siglés de scarifications, coiffures mirifiques et regards profonds. Ce regard-là, fascination du monde invisible, relève d’un imaginaire inaccessible au voyageur, si doué soit-il. Cette grande turbulence du regard ne devient plus ici qu’une trace, une temporalité figée en une pose, comme un avion crashé, totem en creux dans la jungle ».