Amadou Sanogo

Born in 1977, Segou, Mali
Lives and works in Bamako, Mali

Amadou Sanogo was born in 1977 in Segou. His ancestors were Sénoufo, noble and farmers. They founded the commune of Zangorola in the area of Sikasso in the south of Mali that belonged to the Kingdom of Kénédougou (Country of light). Its kings Tiéba and Babemba Traoré are acknowledged and respected for being the last opponents to the colonial army lead by the French in Mali. Amadou Sanogo is happy to talk about his origins: "To know where we go we need to know where we are from". He is the heir of this land full of history, symbol of resistance and endowed of a rich artistic patrimony.
Obstinate, Amadou Sanogo did not follow the path he was supposed to. Instead of becoming an engineer, he chose to study at the Institut National des Arts in Bamako while ?a noble should not indulge in the activities of a griot. Annoyed by the academic training, Amadou Sanogo decides to pursue his own plastic research and learns the traditional technique of Bogolan, iconic fabric of the Malian culture, before turning to painting to develop his own language. His singularity leads him to collaborate with Simon Njami and Pascale Marthine Tayou in 2006. Abdoulaye Konaté, artist and director of the INA supports him.
Humanist and freethinker, he is also fed by tradition, which constitutes a source of knowledge, wisdom and inspiration to him. He takes a great interest into Bambara proverbs that are for him essential to the understanding of the Malian culture in its whole diversity. Since his youngest age, he is respected by his relatives for his ability to listen and his objectivity. Committed and federating, he opens in 2014 the Atelier Badialan in the heart of the wahhabite area where he welcomes young artists. For the first time in Bamako, artists are able to independently finance their own studio, living and working together, creating in emulation, in freedom and sharing their knowledge to the public.

 

Collections

FRAC Aquitaine, Bordeaux, France

Astrup Fearnley Museet, Oslo, Norway

The West Collection, Pennsylvania, USA

The Pizzuti Collection, Ohio, USA

Agnès b Collection, Paris, France

Musée des Beaux-Arts de Rennes, France

Né le 1er juillet 1977 à Ségou, Mali
Vit et travaille à Bamako, Mali

Amadou Sanogo est né en en 1977 à Ségou. Ses ancêtres sont Sénoufo, nobles et paysans. Ils ont fondé la localité de Zangorola dans la région de Sikasso au sud du Mali qui appartenait au Royaume de Kénédougou (Pays de la lumière). Leurs rois Tiéba et Babemba Traoré sont reconnus et respectés pour avoir été les derniers opposant à l?armée coloniale lors de la campagne menée par les Français au Mali. Amadou Sanogo évoque volontiers ses origines : « pour savoir où l'on va il faut savoir d'où l'on vient ». Il est l'héritier de cette terre d'Histoire, symbole de résistance et dotée d'un riche patrimoine artistique.

Obstiné, Amadou Sanogo a trouvé sa voie en dehors de celles qu'on lui avait tracées. On le voulait ingénieur, il a préféré l'Institut National des Arts (INA). Alors "qu'un noble ne doit pas se permettre des activités de griots", il se forme à la technique du Bogolan, tissu emblématique de la culture malienne, avant de se tourner vers la peinture. Amadou Sanogo contrarié par l'enseignement académique décide de poursuivre ses propres recherches plastiques et développer son propre langage. Sa singularité l'amène à collaborer en 2006 avec Simon Njami et Pascale Marthine Tayou. L'artiste et Directeur de L'INA, Abdoulaye Konaté, lui apporte son soutien.

Humaniste et libre-penseur, il se nourrit également de la tradition qu'il utilise comme source de connaissances, de sagesse et d'inspiration. Il s'intéresse aux proverbes Bambara qu'il considère comme essentiels à la compréhension de la culture malienne dans toute sa diversité. Dès son plus jeune âge, il est respecté par tout son entourage pour sa capacité d'écoute et son objectivité. Engagé et fédérateur, il crée en 2014 l'Atelier Badialan au coeur d'un quartier wahhabite où il accueille des jeunes artistes. Pour la première fois à Bamako, sans chercher d'aide, des artistes financent leur propre atelier, vivent et travaillent ensemble, créent dans l'émulation, en toute liberté et mettent leurs connaissances au service du public.

 

Collections

FRAC Aquitaine, Bordeaux, France
Astrup Fearnley Museet, Oslo, Norvège

The West Collection, Pennsylvania, USA

The Pizzuti Collection, Ohio, USA

Agnès B Collection, Paris, France

Musée des Beaux-Arts de Rennes, France