Omar Victor Diop

Omar Victor Diop
Born in 1980, Dakar, Senegal
Lives and works in Dakar.
Omar Victor Diop is represented exclusively by the MAGNIN-A gallery, Paris.

Omar Victor Diop developed an interest in photography at an early age. As a child, he was nourished by the masterpieces of Afro-Caribbean literature, and by characters such as "Segou" by the author Maryse Condé, who go from being a "foreigner" to a "notable" in a given society. Omar Victor Diop sees this journey as representative of his own, one in which he has found himself on the side of minorities who need to learn from models of adaptation to different contexts and new ways of being.
A graduate of the Ecole Supérieure de Commerce de Paris, he first worked for British American Tobacco Africa. However, he put an end to a career in corporate communication to devote himself fully to his career as an artist, and had great success at the Rencontres de Bamako, biennial of African photography in 2011.

Omar Victor Diop is distinguished by a work that combines visual arts, fashion and photographic portraiture. He is particularly fond of mixing photography with other art forms, including textile design, fashion design and creative writing to bring his inspiration to life. For him, art is the only dialogue that will never cease, a dialogue that is constantly inspired by those who redefine and choose their future lives, convinced that this is the only way to get out of the ordinary and leave a real mark on people.
In his first series entitled Futur du beau, Omar Victor Diop hijacks consumer goods and garbage to dress his models while questioning standards of beauty and elegance. This was followed by the Studio des Vanités series in 2013, which portrays a creative, ambitious and urban African generation. He captures the lifestyle and diversity of modern African societies. He was then inspired by the great historical African photographers, Mama Casset, Seydou Keïta, Malick Sidibé, as well as the famous designer Jean-Paul Goude. From 2014, with Diaspora, Omar Victor Diop puts himself on stage by re-enacting portraits of African notables who have marked history. This series marks the beginning of an international consecration. The Liberty series (2017) evokes and juxtaposes key moments of Black protests, events that are certainly distinct in time, geography and scope, but which the photographer places in a common chronology, that of a quest for freedom that is too often scorned. These representations are a tribute to those who aspire to freedom and dignity.
Omar Victor Diop's work connects the history and modernity of African societies, whether by sublimating their lifestyles or by coloring their self-image: "It has been exactly ten years since I picked up a camera with the intention of showing the struggle of my people, their moments of pride, their altruism, their incredible diversity and their capacity to adapt.
In his new series, Allegoria, the young Senegalese photographer begins a new chapter that addresses the issue of the environment and the importance of the climate challenges facing the African continent. In 15 allegorical photographs, the artist embodies the humanity that must protect life; humanity surrounded by floral and animal species that will soon be extinct; humanity again, concerned not to see biodiversity only visible in natural history textbooks.

 

Collections
Brooklyn Museum, New-York, USA
Minneapolis Institute of Art, Mineapolis, USA
High Museum of Art, Atlanta, USA
Frac Aquitaine, Bordeaux, France
Tang Museum at Skidmore College, USA
Vitra Design Museum, Allemagne
Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University, Illinois, Etats-Unis
Collection Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, France
Musée de la Photographie de Saint-Louis, Sénégal

Cleveland Museum of Art, Cleveland, Etats-Unis

Pizzuti Collection, Colombus, Ohio, USA
Mott-Warsh collection, Flint, Michigan
Collection Agnès b., Paris, France
C.A.A.C - The Pigozzi Collection, Geneva, Switzerland
JP Morgan Chase collection, New York, USA
Block Museum, Chicago, USA
Dustin Yellin collection, New York, USA
Collection Farida et Henri Seydoux, Paris, France
Collection Jean Gabriel Mitterand, Paris, France
LAC Lambert Art Collection, Genève, Suisse

Né en 1980, Dakar, Sénégal

Vit et travaille à Dakar.

 

Omar Victor Diop développe un intérêt pour la photographie dès son plus jeune âge. Enfant, il est nourri par les chefs-d’œuvre de la littérature Afro-Caribéenne, et par des personnages tels que « Ségou » de l’auteur Maryse Condé, qui passent de l’état « d’étranger » à celui de « notable » dans une société donnée. Omar Victor Diop considère ce parcours comme étant représentatif du sien, un parcours au cours duquel il s’est retrouvé du côté des minorités qui doivent prendre exemple sur des modèles d’adaptation à des contextes différents et de nouvelles manières d’être.

Diplômé de l’Ecole supérieure de commerce de Paris, il travaille d’abord à la British American Tobacco Afrique. Cependant il met fin à une carrière en communication d’entreprise pour se consacrer pleinement à sa carrière d’artiste, et connaît un grand succès aux Rencontres de Bamako, biennale de la photographie africaine en 2011.

Omar Victor Diop se distingue par une œuvre qui combine les arts plastiques, la mode et le portrait photographique. Il affectionne particulièrement le mélange de la photographie avec d’autres formes artistiques, entre autres la création textile, le stylisme et l’écriture créative pour donner vie à son inspiration. Pour lui, l’art est le seul dialogue qui ne cessera jamais, un dialogue qui s’inspire constamment de ceux qui redéfinissent et choisissent leur vie future, convaincus que c’est la seule manière de sortir de l’ordinaire et de laisser une véritable empreinte sur les hommes.

 

Dans sa première série intitulée Futur du beau, Omar Victor Diop détourne les biens de consommation et les déchets afin d'en vêtir ses modèles tout en questionnant les standards de beauté et d'élégance. S'ensuit la série Studio des Vanités en 2013, qui dresse le portrait d'une génération africaine créative, ambitieuse et urbaine. Il capture le style de vie et la diversité des sociétés modernes africaines. Il s'inspire alors des grands photographes africains historiques, Mama Casset, Seydou Keïta, Malick Sidibé, ainsi que le célèbre créateur Jean-Paul Goude. Dès 2014, avec Diaspora, Omar Victor Diop se met en scène en rejouant des portraits de notables africains ayant marqué l'histoire. Cette série marque le début d'une consécration internationale. La série Liberty (2017) évoque et juxtapose des moments marquants de protestations Noires, événements certes distincts dans le temps, la géographie ou l’ampleur, mais que le photographe replace dans une chronologie commune, celle d’une quête de liberté trop souvent bafouée. Ces représentations sont un hommage à ceux qui aspirent à la liberté et à la dignité.

L’œuvre d’Omar Victor Diop fait le lien entre l’histoire et la modernité des sociétés africaines, que ce soit en sublimant leurs styles de vie ou en colorant l’image qu’elles se font d’elles-mêmes : « Cela fait exactement dix ans que j’ai saisi un appareil photo avec l’intention de montrer la lutte de mon peuple, ses moments de fierté, son altruisme, son incroyable diversité et sa capacité d’adaptation ».

Dans sa nouvelle série, Allegoria, le jeune photographe sénégalais débute un nouveau chapitre qui aborde la question de l’environnement et l’importance des défis climatiques que rencontre le continent africain. En 15 photographies allégoriques, l’artiste incarne l’humanité devant protéger la vie ; l’humanité environnée d’espèces florales et animales bientôt disparues ; l’humanité encore, soucieuse de ne pas voir la biodiversité uniquement visible dans les manuels d’histoire naturelle.

 

Collections
Brooklyn Museum, New-York, USA
Minneapolis Institute of Art, Mineapolis, USA
High Museum of Art, Atlanta, USA
Frac Aquitaine, Bordeaux, France
Tang Museum at Skidmore College, Etats-Unis
Vitra Design Museum, Allemagne
Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University, Illinois, Etats-Unis
Collection Fondation Louis Vuitton, Paris, France
Musée de la Photographie de Saint-Louis, Sénégal

Cleveland Museum of Art, Cleveland, Etats-Unis
Pizzuti Collection, Colombus, Ohio, USA
Mott-Warsh collection, Flint, Michigan
Collection Agnès b., Paris, France
C.A.A.C - The Pigozzi Collection, Geneva, Switzerland
JP Morgan Chase collection, New York, USA
Block Museum, Chicago, USA
Dustin Yellin collection, New York, USA
Collection Farida et Henri Seydoux, Paris, France
LAC Lambert Art Collection, Genève, Suisse
Collection Helen Burgess, France