Paris Photo 2021: Omar Victor Diop - Allegoria

Grand Palais Éphèmère, Paris, 11 - 14 November 2021
Booth B4

On the occasion of Paris Photo, the first international art fair dedicated to the medium of photography, MAGNIN-A gallery is pleased to present the latest series by Omar Victor Diop. From November 11 to 14, 2021, the Grand Palais Éphémère will unveil the 15 works that make up Allegoria as well as the first book dedicated to the photographer, bringing together the series Diaspora (2014), Liberty (2017) and Allegoria (2021), co-published with 5 Continents Editions.

Omar Victor Diop begins a new chapter in his work. With Allegoria, the photographer takes up the fundamental question of the environment and its impact on the African continent. His works represent the allegory of a humanity concerned with a nature that could be no more than a memory of natural history textbooks. Humanity, abandoned to his painful responsibility, collects around him this Nature reduced to a representation.

"The symbolic garden that surrounds my allegory has no borders, and can just as easily mix different parts of the planet as opposing elements or seasons. It is up to the viewer to decipher the language of the allegory, to grasp the codes, the values and the meanings of a bee, a dodo or a reed. What do you feel when you see a deer in a harbor environment, accompanied by seagulls, corals and fish? Climate change? A dialogue within the fauna? Just like a prophetic text, the reader makes his or her own interpretation. I wanted to give a religious dignity to my allegory, a contemplation sometimes appeased, like Saint Francis of Assisi watching over the species, sometimes playful, like Orpheus enchanting nature." Omar Victor Diop

Paris Photo 2021: Omar Victor Diop - Allegoria

Grand Palais Éphèmère, Paris, 11 - 14 Novembre 2021
Stand B4

À l’occasion de Paris Photo, première foire d'art internationale dédiée au médium de la photographie, la galerie MAGNIN-A est heureuse de présenter la dernière série d’Omar Victor Diop. Du 11 au 14 novembre 2021, l’écrin du Grand Palais éphémère dévoilera les 15 oeuvres qui constituent Allegoria ainsi que le premier ouvrage consacré au photographe, rassemblant les séries Diaspora (2014), Liberty (2017) et Allegoria (2021), réalisé en coédition avec 5 Continents Editions. 

Omar Victor Diop entame ici un nouveau chapitre de son travail. Avec Allegoria, le photographe se saisit de la question fondamentale de l’environnement et de sa portée sur le continent africain. Ses oeuvres figurent l’allégorie d’une humanité soucieuse d’une nature qui pourrait n’être plus qu’un souvenir des manuels d’histoire naturelle. L’Homme, abandonné à sa douloureuse responsabilité, recueille autour de lui cette Nature réduite à une représentation. 

‘‘Le jardin symbolique qui environne mon allégorie ne connaît pas de frontières, et peut tout aussi bien mêler des parties différentes de la planète que des éléments ou des saisons contraires. Il appartient au spectateur de déchiffrer le langage de l’allégorie, de saisir les codes, les valeurs et les sens que revêtent une abeille, un dodo ou un roseau. Qu’éprouvez-vous en voyant une biche dans une ambiance portuaire, accompagnée de mouettes, de coraux et de poissons ? Le dérèglement climatique ? Un dialogue au sein de la faune ? Tout comme pour un texte prophétique, le lecteur fait son interprétation. J’ai voulu donner une dignité religieuse à mon allégorie, un recueillement parfois apaisé, tel saint François d’Assise veillant sur les espèces, parfois joueur, comme Orphée enchantant la nature.’’ Omar Victor Diop