Marcel Miracle - ZOAR : Galerie MAGNIN-A, Paris

9 December 2021 - 26 February 2022

Nothing became something.

An island, Madagascar, has a connection with MM. The important thing is not that he was born there in 1957 but that he returned there when the man and poet he had become knew what he was looking for. In Moramanga, his birthplace, he found traces of desert geomancy, invented when men drew constellations with their fingers on the sand. Brought to the island by Arab and Persian traders from the 9th century, it took the local form of divination by seeds (acacia and tamarind) called "sikidy". A great master of sikidy lived in Moramanga. He initiated it, gave it a name, Avane, rainbow (arc-en-ciel) in Malagasy. When he manipulated the letters, it became Arcel Iracle. The two M's of his old signature in front of each word and Marcel Miracle was born.

A man, he, Miracle, in the shape of an upside down question mark, an observed observer of all this turmoil that is taking shape before his eyes. If the man is not there, there is the eye. We often find him hidden in the corner of his room, sitting between the three lines at 120° that make the triangle of his world opened by a single door, sometimes a window with bars, and in some cases a stepladder. Marcel Miracle draws his world with nothing: the recurring signs of his alphabet to tell his stories, the detritus picked up on the edge of the sidewalks to stick to the fantasies of his transformism, the words escaped from his unchained solitude to make a poem of each lived moment. Two old bits of tangled shoelaces make the flight of an albatross. Nothing has become something.

When the show stops in an exhibition room, we see, on the wall, the isolated forms of a poetic movement that seizes all the artistic means at Marcel Miracle's disposal to make the desires of his imagination come true. Having allowed himself one day to move the center of the circle to the periphery, he got rid of the limits of logical reason. He is now free to climb a sole on horseback or to walk at night among the dunes in the company of djinns towards the lost civilizations that taught us language.

Marcel Miracle - ZOAR : Galerie MAGNIN-A, Paris

9 Décembre 2021 - 26 Février 2022

Le rien est devenu quelque chose.

Une île, Madagascar, entretient avec MM une liaison. L’important n’est pas qu’il y soit né en 1957 mais qu’il y soit retourné quand l’homme et le poète qu’il était devenu savait ce qu’il cherchait. À Moramanga, son village de naissance, il a retrouvé les traces de la géomancie du désert, inventée quand les hommes dessinaient les constellations avec les doigts sur le sable. Amenée dans l’île par les commerçants arabes et perses à partir du IXe siècle, elle a pris la forme locale d’une divination par les graines (acacia et tamarin) appelée «sikidy». Un grand maître de sikidy habitait à Moramanga. Il l’a initié, lui a donné un nom, Avane, arc-en ciel en malgache. En triturant les lettres, ça donnait Arcel Iracle. Les deux M de son ancienne signature devant chaque mot et Marcel Miracle était né. 

Un homme, lui, Miracle, en forme de point d’interrogation à l’envers, observateur observé de tout ce remue-ménage qui se dessine sous ses yeux. Si l’homme n’y est pas, il y a l’oeil. On le trouve souvent planqué dans le coin de sa chambre, assis entre les trois lignes à 120° qui font le triangle de son monde ouvert par une seule porte, parfois une fenêtre avec des barreaux, et dans certains cas un escabeau. Marcel Miracle dessine son monde avec rien: les signes récurrents de son alphabet pour raconter ses histoires, les détritus ramassés sur le bord des trottoirs pour coller aux fantaisies de son transformisme, les mots échappés de sa solitude déchaînée pour faire poème de chaque instant vécu. Deux vieux bouts de lacets emmêlés font l’envol d’un albatros. Le rien est devenu quelque chose.

Quand le spectacle s’arrête dans une salle d’exposition on voit, au mur, les formes isolées d’un mouvement poétique qui se saisit de tous les moyens artistiques à disposition de Marcel Miracle pour faire advenir les désirs de son imagination. S’étant permis un jour de déplacer le centre du cercle à la périphérie, il s’est débarrassé des limites de la raison logique. Le voilà libre d’escalader une semelle à dos de cheval ou de marcher la nuit parmi les dunes en compagnie des djinns vers les civilisations perdues qui nous ont appris le langage.