Omar Victor Diop

Texts by Renée Mussai, Imani Perry and Marvin Adoul
2021
Fr / En

Publisher: Galerie MAGNIN-A & 5 Continents Editions

ISBN: 978-88-7439-993-2

Dimensions: 23,5 x 31 cm

Pages: 96
€39.00

Omar Victor Diop is a self-taught artist and at forty-one he is one of the leading photographers of his generation. His work is part of the African tradition of studio photography, which includes the pictures of Seydou Keïta, Mama Casset and Malick Sidibé. At the same time, although being in full command of the technique, he has also chosen gradually to distance himself from it. This book, co-published with 5 Continents Editions, for the first time brings together the photographer’s last three emblematic series: Diaspora (2014), Liberty (2017) and Allegoria (2021).

In Diaspora, Diop concentrates on the self-portrait. The Senegalese photographer embodies eighteen figures from the African diaspora who lived extraordinary lives but have been ignored in the conventional history of the Western world. Enlivening the photos with objects associated with football, he softens the impact of his characters by propelling them into the present, where they add an interesting take on the current debate about immigration to Europe and the integration of foreigners.

In Liberty, Diop continues to raise the profile of the continent of Africa and to place the spotlight on its ongoing exodus by providing on overview of the history of his people’s struggles. Playing on visual tropes and combining self-portraits with portraits of others, the artist re-examines the main events in this complex affair. While the incidents all certainly involve different periods and places and are not of equal importance, they are all connected with the same desire for a liberty that has too often been denied.

In Allegoria, Omar Victor Diop turns his attention to a completely fresh topic. In these photographs he explores the issue of the environment and its importance in Africa. The allegory in question is nature itself, which instead of existing in the world, risks becoming just a memory and a series of pictures in science textbooks. Awash in its painful responsibility, mankind gathers around itself nature’s residues, reduced to mere representations.

Omar Victor Diop

Textes de Renée Mussai, Imani Perry et Marvin Adoul
2021
Fr / En

Editeur: Galerie MAGNIN-A & 5 Continents Editions

ISBN: 978-88-7439-993-2

Dimensions: 23,5 x 31 cm

Pages: 96
€39.00

À 41 ans, Omar Victor Diop est l’un des photographes les plus prometteurs de sa génération. Artiste autodidacte, son œuvre s’inscrit directement dans l’héritage de la photographie de studio africaine de Seydou Keïta, Mama Casset ou Malick Sidibé, un genre dont il a su s’approprier les codes tout en s’en affranchissant. L’ouvrage Omar Victor Diop, réalisé en collaboration avec 5 Continents Editions, rassemble pour la première fois les trois dernières séries emblématiques du photographe : Diaspora (2014), Liberty (2017) et Allegoria (2021).

Dans Diaspora, Omar Victor Diop choisit l’art de l’autoportrait. Le photographe sénégalais incarne dans ses images dix-huit figures de la diaspora africaine aux destins hors du commun, mais oubliées de l’histoire occidentale. En agrémentant ses images d’objets liés au football, il estompe la charge dramatique tout en propulsant ses personnages historiques dans le présent. Il les inscrit ainsi dans le débat sur l’immigration et l’insertion des étrangers dans les sociétés européennes.

Pour Liberty réalisée en 2017, Omar Victor Diop poursuit la mise en lumière du continent africain et de sa diaspora en proposant une lecture universelle de l’histoire de la protestation noire. Par un jeu de références visuelles mêlant autoportraits et mises en scène, l’artiste revisite les événements marquants de cette histoire, certes différenciés par le temps, la géographie et l’ampleur, mais reliés par une même quête, celle de la liberté trop souvent entravée.

Avec Allegoria, Omar Victor Diop entame un nouveau chapitre de son travail. Le photographe se saisit de la question fondamentale de l’environnement et de sa portée sur le continent africain. Ses œuvres figurent l’allégorie d’une humanité soucieuse d’une nature qui pourrait n’être plus qu’un souvenir des manuels d’histoire naturelle. L’Homme, abandonné à sa douloureuse responsabilité, recueille autour de lui cette Nature réduite à une représentation.