Chéri Samba

Born in 1956 in Kinto M'Vuila, Democratic Republic of Congo.
Lives and works in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo.

At school, Chéri Samba draws in his school notebooks and imitates the humorous comics of the magazine Jeunes pour Jeunes. Aware of the success of his drawings, instead of following his father's trade as a blacksmith, he left school and moved to Kinshasa in 1972. At first he had difficulty finding a job, an episode in his life that inspired the painting L'espoir fait vivre (1989). He finally found a job with Mbuta-Masunda, a painter of advertising signs, who hired him on the condition that he passed two tests: reproducing a photograph of an old father with a pencil, and a calligraphic work in "gothic" letters. Having never heard this word, he draws letters of his own invention which please a lot and ensure him this job. He then worked for the entertainment newspaper Bilenge Info on the adventures of Lolo m'a déçu, the story of a married man and his young mistress, which had already made him popular when, on October 10, 1975, he moved to 89, at the corner of Kasa-Vubu and Birmanie avenues, in the Ngiri-Ngiri area: "My life and my work are a whole. There was a joyful competition between artists and to differentiate myself, I created the "Sambaïan label". I had my look, my advertisements, my banners in front of the studio, my letterhead and business cards with photo, my Chéri Samba stamp... I wanted to make a maximum communication. One is never better served than by oneself!"

His paintings are always painted in a rich chromatic palette, vivid, contrasted and most often glittery as to play down the subject. Whatever his message, Chéri Samba wants to make the spectators enter his paintings without apprehension: "When I undertake a painting, I define the subject, the idea, the message, the very title. The image is clearly in my head, even the colors... I draw the subject precisely with a pencil, right down to the details, directly on the canvas, without any preliminary sketch. I allow myself up to three versions of the same painting, but slightly different."
In 1975, he made his first self-portrait, and in 1985, he decided to make himself the regular subject of his paintings so that his name as well as his face would be recognized: "Whether the subjects of my paintings concern me directly or not, I prefer to represent myself anyway. Since I am the one who paints, these are my ideas, I decide on the subject, I decide on the comments... so why put someone else's face instead of mine? Having noticed that the spectators pass by the paintings with only a wink, Chéri Samba also puts texts, or comments, within his paintings. The writing thus attracts attention and allows one to better admire and penetrate the work. The artist describes this style as "Samba's claw". For him art has no boundaries. The themes he tackles are universal: he stages current events, morals, sexuality, illness, social inequalities, corruption, etc.

Collections
Musée National d'Art Moderne - Centre Pompidou, Paris, France
Museum of Modern Art - MoMa, New York, United States
Seattle Art Museum, Seatlle, United States
Musée royal d'Afrique centrale, Tervuren, Belgique. 
Collection LVMH, Paris, France
Smithsonian Institute, National Museum of African Art, Washington, USA
Collection LVMH, Paris, France

Fondation Cartier pour l'art contemporain, Paris, France
CAAC - The Pigozzi Collection, Genève, Suisse
Collection Sindika Dokolo, Luanda, Angola
Fondation Alliances, Marrakech, Moroco
Zeitz Mocaa, Cape Town, South Africa
Collection agnès.b, Paris, France
Collection Lilian Thuram, Paris, France
Collection Farida et Henri Seydoux, Paris, France
Collection Gervanne et Matthias Leridon, Paris, France

Né en 1956 à Kinto M'Vuila, République Démocratique du Congo.

Vit et travaille à Kinshasa, République Démocratique du Congo.


À l’école, Chéri Samba dessine dans ses cahiers d’écolier et imite les bandes dessinées humoristiques de la revue Jeunes pour Jeunes. Conscient du succès de ses dessins, au lieu de suivre le métier de son père forgeron, il quitte l’école et rejoint Kinshasa en 1972. Il connaît d’abord des difficultés à trouver un travail, épisode de sa vie qui lui inspire le tableau L’espoir fait vivre (1989). Il trouve finalement un emploi chez Mbuta-Masunda, peintre d’enseigne publicitaire, qui l’engage à condition de réussir deux tests : reproduire la photographie d’un vieux papa au crayon, et un travail calligraphique en lettres « gothiques ». N’ayant jamais entendu ce mot-ci, il dessine des lettres de son invention qui plaisent beaucoup et lui assurent cet emploi. Il travaille ensuite pour le journal de divertissement Bilenge Info aux aventures de Lolo m’a déçu, l’histoire d’un homme marié et de sa jeune maîtresse qui le rend déjà populaire lorsque le 10 octobre 1975, il s’installe au 89, à l’angle des avenues Kasa-Vubu et Birmanie, dans la zone Ngiri-Ngiri : « Ma vie et mon œuvre sont tout un ensemble. Il y avait une joyeuse compétition entre les artistes et pour me différencier, j’ai créé la « griffe sambaïenne ». J’avais mon look, mes publicités, mes banderoles devant l’atelier, lettres à en-tête et cartes de visite avec photo, mon cachet Chéri Samba… Je voulais faire une communication maximale. On n’est jamais mieux servi que par soi même ! »

 

Ses tableaux sont toujours peints dans une palette chromatique riche, vive, contrastée et le plus souvent pailletée comme pour en dédramatiser le sujet. Quel que soit son message, Chéri Samba veut faire entrer sans appréhension les spectateurs dans ses tableaux : « Lorsque j’entreprends un tableau, je définis le sujet, l’idée, le message, le titre même. L’image est clairement dans ma tête, même les couleurs… Je dessine précisément le sujet au crayon jusque dans les détails, directement sur la toile, sans croquis préalable. Je m’autorise jusqu’à trois versions du même tableau, mais légèrement différentes. »

En 1975, il fait son premier autoportrait, et dès 1985, il décide de se faire sujet régulier de ses tableaux afin qu’on reconnaisse aussi bien son nom que son visage : « que les sujets de mes tableaux me concernent directement ou non, je préfère de toute façon me représenter. Puisque c’est moi qui peint, ce sont mes idées, je décide du sujet, je décide des commentaires… pourquoi donc mettre le visage de quelqu’un d’autre plutôt que le mien ? ». Ayant remarqué que les spectateurs passent devant les tableaux en ne regardant que d’un clin d’œil, Chéri Samba met également des textes, ou commentaires, au sein de ses toiles. L’écriture attire ainsi l’attention et permet de mieux admirer et pénétrer l’œuvre. L’artiste qualifie ce style de « griffe sambaïenne ». Pour lui l'art n'a pas de frontière. Les thèmes qu’il aborde sont universaux : il met en scène les faits d’actualité, les mœurs, la sexualité, la maladie, les inégalités sociales, la corruption, etc.

 

Collections
Musée National d'Art Moderne - Centre Pompidou, Paris,  France
Museum of Modern Art, MoMa, New York, USA
Seattle Art Museum, Seatlle, USA
Musée royal d'Afrique centrale, Tervuren, Belgique 
Smithsonian Institute, National Museum of African Art, Washington, USA

Collection LVMH, Paris, France
Fondation Cartier pour l'art contemporain, Paris, France 
CAAC - The Pigozzi Collection, Genève, Suisse
Collection Sindika Dokolo, Luanda, Angola
Collection Fondation Alliances, Casablanca, Maroc
Zeitz Mocaa, Cape Town, Afrique du sud
Fonds de dotation agnès.b, Paris, France
Collection agnès.b, Paris, France
Collection Lilian Thuram, Paris, France
Collection Farida et Henri Seydoux, Paris, France
Collection Gervanne et Matthias Leridon, Paris, France